5 bedroom 2.5 bath home with garage,
Very large kitchen
3 season porch
Formal dining room
3 bedroom 1 bath on 1.5 acres.
Oil furnace hot air. wood stove.
includes newer appliances washer/dryer hookup. Family room & living room.
$1000.00 plus all utilities
Lisbon was first granted in 1763 by Colonial Governor Benning Wentworth as "Concord". In 1764 the town was renamed "Chiswick", after the Duke of Devonshire's castle, while Rumford in central New Hampshire took the name "Concord" in 1765. In 1768, the town was settled and renamed again, this time to "Gunthwaite", after a relation of Colonial Governor John Wentworth. The name "Lisbon" was selected by Governor Levi Woodbury when it was incorporated in 1824. His friend, Colonel William Jarvis, had been consul at Lisbon, Portugal. The town once included land that is now part of Littleton and Sugar Hill.
Charcoal-making was an early industry. Iron, gold and other minerals were mined here. The narrow, steep falls of the Ammonoosuc River provided water power for numerous watermills and factories, and the Parker Young Company was at one time the largest manufacturer of piano sounding boards in the world. Lisbon was the site of the first rope ski tow in New Hampshire
Granted as Lloyd's Hills in 1774 by Colonial Governor John Wentworth, the town was named for James Lloyd of Boston. It would be the last of the provincial grants in New Hampshire. In the aftermath of the Revolutionary War, the original grant could not be found. Lack of documentation would deter settlement until 1787, when the first permanent houses where built. Dropping its homage to Lloyd, a Loyalist, the town would be incorporated as Bethlehem on December 27, 1799, the name selected on the last Christmas Day of the century. There were just 33 families, with agriculture the only industry.
By 1850, however, the population had grown to 950, and the town contained a gristmill, 5 large sawmills and 2 starch factories. Then, in 1867, the railroad came to Bethlehem Junction. With it traveled tourists from Boston, New York and elsewhere, many to avoid respiratory ailments in the low pollen count environment of "the highest town in New Hampshire" (as claimed on a present-day sign in the village, although several other towns in the state are higher). Others were attracted by the paintings of the White Mountain artists. Conveniently located near Mount Washington and other attractions of the White Mountains, Bethlehem developed into a Gilded Age resort for the rich and famous.
In 1873, at the beginning of a building boom, Governor Henry Howard of Rhode Island built Howard House. Eventually, over 30 hotels would line Bethlehem's streets. Seven trains arrived daily, some direct from Grand Central Terminal, stopping at Bethlehem's five depots. Patrons included Presidents Grant, Hayes, Roosevelt, Taft and Harding, as well as author Thornton Burgess and poet Robert Frost. Entertainments included strolling Main Street on a two and a half mile raised boardwalk, carriage rides in the countryside, croquet games or simply lounging about the hotels' sweeping piazzas.
On the hills and thoroughfares were built large summer "cottages," including that of the Woolworth family. Beginning in 1887, an annual Coaching Parade was held, with prizes awarded for lavishly decorated horse-drawn carriages. Ornamentations cost as much as $5000, prompting visitor Phineas T. Barnum to proclaim it "the Second Greatest Show on Earth."
But the rise of the automobile would bring the decline of grand hotels. Tourists could now explore regions beyond the limits of rail service. Beginning about 1916, Jewish families began arriving in town, often seeking relief from hay fever symptoms. In fact, an organization named the Hebrew Hay Fever Relief Association, which was organized in the 1920s, existed in Bethlehem for many years. For a town in northern New Hampshire, contemporary Bethlehem has a sizable Jewish community (and a number of synagogues), a legacy of its hay-fever-relief experience.
It was at Bethlehem that the National Hay Fever Relief Association was founded. World War II gave the hotels a second life, as tourists avoided war-ravaged Europe and stayed closer to home. By the 1950s, however, hotel attendance had dwindled. Many would close and be demolished. Today, the town is known for its special Christmas postal cancellation stamp. Every year, people from all over the world send Christmas cards to the Bethlehem post office to have them postmarked. In 2000, it handled 56,000 Christmas cards.
3 bedroom 2 bath modular house built 2007.
on 0.25 acres in private setting.
Nestled in the shadow of the New Hampshire's majestic White Mountains, Littleton is the economic and recreational hub of the North Country. This picturesque New England gem offers something for everyone - fine dining and art galleries, unique shops and historic buildings, and a range of outdoor activities for all seasons.
The peaceful Riverwalk path meanders along the Ammonoosuc River, across a covered bridge, and past many historic Littleton landmarks, including the still-operating Littleton Grist Mill. Across Main Street dances a bronze statue of Pollyanna, that icon of gladness whose author, Eleanor Porter, called Littleton home.
With glorious views and friendly people, Littleton is the gateway to countless riches of the White Mountains region of New Hampshire.
Newly renovated in 2009.
Very large 4 Bedroom 2 bath house
3 car garage & beautiful fenced-in yard.
Deck and large lawn.
Formal Dining room, Mudrom
Workshop and barn storage.
$1250.00 plus utilites
3-4 bedroom / 2 bath.
Brand New luxury house. Hardwood bamboo floors, luxury bath, stainless steel appliances. Fireplace.
1 acre- 1 car garage.
per month plus all utilities.
Driveway and yards maintained by tenant.